Thursday and the rest of the week

Posted: October 22, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Been quite an eventful week so I’m a little behind.  I finished my regular college classes for this term. So I will now have Monday and Wednesday night free to add to my training schedule.  This will give me four nights a week to train instead of just two. I’m sure I will see much more satisfactory results with the stepped up routine.

On Wednesday this past week, I went to the Dr. for a follow up. After being weighed and measured, I see I haven’t lost a single pound in the last month, but I’m down .8% body fat. While I wasn’t thrilled with this, still being over 300 lbs, at least I am making some kind of progress and some clothes are fitting better.  Once again, hopefully the stepped up routine will help.

In non fighting news, my book (yes I actually wrote a book lol) the Hand of God is now out in paperback through Vamptasy Publishing. I’m very excited an this looks great.  Please take the time to check it out and support a struggling artist/fighter (me) as I may need it for medical co-pays later.  You can find my book here, its also 2.50 in kindle format if you prefer that.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Hand-God-Tim-Miller/dp/1909402052/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1350875027&sr=1-1

In class Thursday night, I did wrestling for the first hour, working on take downs and sprawls to avoid being taken down. Was a pretty good workout. I think being knocked down repeatedly tired me out faster than classes  usually do, as I was pretty wiped when we got done. After that it was just Damien and I for Muay Thai. Since we had both done wrestling just before, he took it easy on conditioning and we just worked technique. This was a really helpful class for me. We just went slow and walked through as many kicks, punches, knees and elbows as we could.  Also worked on some defending.

Muay Thai fighting is much much different than traditional boxing. I prefer the higher stance with raised hands as opposed to the lower, closed stances. Being a bigger guy, I feel I can make this work for me.  Not to mention it looks weird, so maybe I can gain a psychological edge over my opponent. So content wise, I felt this was one of my better classes. Hopefully soon, I’ll be able to start putting it all together and things will become automatic.

Leave a Reply

