Fat to Fighter part 3

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Writing this a few days late, but better late than never.  Thursday was a pretty good day.  Went to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, was surprised with how well I retained the things I’d learned Tuesday, so was my instructor, Jason. In so many words, he told me I move really well for someone my size and for being so overweight. My legs are actually rather firm, so are my arms and shoulders. All my fat just collects right in the middle. 

We worked on some new holds. One I just couldn’t get. It requires a series of quick and agile movements and I had a hard time putting them all together. Well, part of the problem was just remember what the next step was; if you go to slow it kind of messes the whole thing up. Jason said not to worry about it, said that it all takes time. It also didn’t help that my arms were so fatigued that I could hardly bear any weight on them at all.

That’s one thing I noticed quickly. BJJ is like my resistance exercise. It’s all push, pull, bearing or holding weight of some sort, either your own or your opponent’s. Muay Thai is almost all cardio. So in doing both, it’s a good all around workout. Only thing that sucks is that I can only go Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday since I work such long hours Friday through Monday. So I get like 4-5 hours of super intense training those days and nothing for four days. By Sunday night I feel like a fat cow. I try to do something at work like taking the stairs or something, but if it’s a day I’m running late, then I can’t even do that.

Thursday night’s Muay Thai class was a tough one. Damien ran us around in circles doing high knees for a while. He said he reads my blog every day, so perhaps I shouldn’t have said that last class was easy. So from now on, every class will be HARD!  Anyway, by the end of the night, my calves felt like they were on fire.  I guess that is good, as Damien says, the calves and feet are your roots in Muay Thai. I did learn some cool new stuff. Learned how to properly throw elbows and knees.  Good stuff.

As goofy as this may sound, after only doing this for a few weeks, I do feel a bit of confidence creeping back to me. I don’t feel like the biggest fat ass in any room I walk into. I might still be the heaviest, but I find myself now sizing people up. I see a guy walking around with his sleeves rolled up like he’s a badass. He might be skinnier than me or look more toned, but I can tell when a guy looks “soft” and I think “I could take him.”  I then will visualize him trying to start crap and I throw a left cross into his face, feeling his nose explode beneath my knuckles. 

For those of you who remember my Kluzos Martini Bar incident from last fall where the bitch ass bouncer threw me and wife out over a misunderstanding at a party. I often dream of going back there 80 pounds lighter, getting the same bitch to get in my face, and putting him in a rear naked choke. Though splitting his skull open with my bare hands sounds fun too.

Of course, I will probably never actually do any of this stuff, but you all can see how this class is good for my anger issues I’ve been having of late. This week I’ll only be able to go to class on Thursday. I will be in Arizona on Tuesday and Wednesday visiting my daughter and meeting with my lawyer. 

Comments
  1. My sweetie is modest…he has great legs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

