Book Review: Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

Posted: February 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

I haven’t done one of these on here, but this time I felt I needed to.  Today I will be reviewing Sins of the Angels .  This book intrigued me because it had an interesting premise.  A fallen angel was here on earth and had become a serial killer.  Heaven sends a hunter angel or Power to hunt him and bring him to justice.  In the process, the Power and the lead homicide detective on the case end up having feelings for each other.  I will try to get through this with few to no spoilers, but as I said, I’m new at reviewing so please bear with me.

So this book has SO much potential. Fallen angels, even nephilim, wars in heaven, all sorts of cool stuff.  Yet much to my chagrin, the book was bogged down by so much inner turmoil it made the book hard to follow.  Our human detective is Alex.  Alex was a troubled young lady with a rough past.  She’s lead on this case.  Trent Jacobs is her new partner aka Power angel in disguise.  So throughout the ENTIRE story, there is some dynamic between these two.

She touches him and they both feel something, yet they don’t want to admit it.  Yet its there, but it’s not there. As the story unfolds, and she realizes more and more their assailant is not of this earth, she demands answers from Trent, yet he can’t give her answers, “it is forbidden,”  which is good because she really doesn’t want to know, yet she does, no she doesn’t.  So he decides to tell her, but he can’t, but she doesn’t want to know, but she does, but now he doesn’t know if he should tell her or not.  You get my point?  I had a hard time lumbering through this story.

The writing itself is well done, good prose and Linda does a good job of setting the scene and describing everything.  It’s just that for me, there was too much brooding and self introspection of the same things over and over.  Maybe its because I’m a guy, or maybe it’s not my cup of tea.  If I had to rate it, I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.  If anyone else has comments or thoughts, feel free to leave them below.  Thank you for reading.

Tim

Leave a Reply

